Archive for October 4, 2008

Invitation to brunch :)

You are invited to yet another fun filled Saturday brunch on October 11th.  So the important info:

When: October 11th

Where: Alchemy Restaurant and Tavern

56 5th Avenue

Brooklyn, New York 11217

718.636.4385

Home

Why this location as opposed to all the other lovely places to chat over coffee and greasy breakfast goodies????: While there were many great competitors this week, Alchemy stood out for its vegan friendly attitude, its proximity to where we live, and its intriguing looking dishes (Sweet Guinness Pancakes).

Leave a comment »

Beast is the best!

I’ll take the hint, Kyle. Here’s the “vegan perspective”:

Beast was by far my favorite brunch so far. It started off well when we ordered coffee and the waitress was happy to get me soy milk. No more black coffee! Then I looked at the menu and there were plenty of vegetarian options, including Kyle’s polenta and David’s granola. I found a veggie wrap at the bottom of the menu and asked if it had dairy. The waitress assured me it didn’t. Before the meal came, she made a point to stop by and warn me that the chipotle sauce had egg in it and she had told them to just not put it on the wrap. It was so sweet of her, I hadn’t even asked about egg or said I was vegan. Yay, Beast, well done :-)

The veggie wrap itself came with sides of fresh salad and roasted potatoes, which made it feel more like brunch than lunch, and my only complaint was that I wanted more potatoes (they were so good!). The wrap was delicious – juicy and fresh-tasting. It was full of zucchini, portabello mushrooms, onions, and many other delicious vegetables. The lack of chipotle didn’t really affect the taste of the wrap, and aside from being a little dribbly (I squirted portabello juice on Kyle and had to use my tide pen) it was perfect and satisfying.

Beast’s atmosphere is great, the food is delicious, and – though a little slow on coffee refills (what’s up with that, Brooklyn?) –  the waitstaff went above and beyond. That’s all from the vegan perspective… back to you, omnivores… or was it omelette whores?

Roommates

Best part is, this wasn't posed...

Leave a comment »

Brunch Club IV – Welcome new brunchers!

Brunch Club IV was a hit at Beast, which was suggested by founding member David.  I’d like to offer a big welcome to new brunchers Katy and Rafi!  Rafi found us via my Twitter account.  Thanks for coming out, y’all!

Micaela and Kyle gettin' down with the strong coffee at Beast

Micaela and Kyle gettin' down with the strong coffee at Beast

I had the Sauteed Polenta (mixed with goat cheese, arugula and sun-dried tomatoes, topped with a tomato sauce, served with baby green salad). It was really delicious, but I felt like the tomatoes overwhelmed the texture of the polenta a bit. If you love sun-dried tomatoes you’d love this dish! Brunch is fairly priced at 13.95 for a meal including coffee or tea and a mimosa or bloody mary. For a lush atmosphere, great service and a menu of quality and diversity I thought it was a steal!

Keep an eye out for the vegan perspective from Micaela (hint hint)!

Enjoy the coffee shot; we sure did! More photos available on my Flickr.

Leave a comment »

You are cordially invited to brunch.

The Prospect Park Brunch Club invites you to join in a weekly festival of breakfast foods, lunchtime favorites, and of course tasty beverages both hot and cold.

Saturday, October 4th
Beast
638 Bergen St.
(between Carlton Ave & Vanderbilt Ave)
Brooklyn, NY 11238
(718) 399-6855

Please arrive noonish.

RSVP in the Comments, if you like. Woo!

Leave a comment »